How Netflix hit “One Day at a Time” helped me deal with shaving my face

Have you seen One Day at a Time ?

It’s a new series from Gloria Calderon Kellett and it is one of the best shows on Netflix. It’s about Penelope, a single mother and veteran Army nurse, and her Cuban-American family. I love this show for many reasons, but the stand out reason is how relatable it is to my own Italian-American family. This show is progressive in the issues they talk about (Elena’s coming out to her grandmother Lydia), and realistic (Elena’s father straight up not accepting her lesbianism). But the issue that really hit home to me was the scene involving Penelope and her young teen son Alex.

Growing up as an Italian girl, there were a lot of things I was told was wrong about me. I was too big, too tall, and too hairy. By the time I was 18, I already had facial hair and it always embarrassed me and went for years thinking that I was the only girl in the world who had to deal with these problems. I never saw images like the one above, of a beautiful woman shaving her face like a man, and I really wished I had.

There is nothing wrong with body hair, and if you choose to remove it you should not feel ashamed about how you do it. I shave my face more often than my husband, and that’s ok. That’s One Day at a Time for reminding me of that.

Leave a comment