Pink is for everyone

As a young girl I remember loving everything pink. From clothes, to hair accessories, to my bicycle, it was all pink. Despite my “girly” preference in color, I was not a girly-girl. I hated dresses, never brushed my hair, and would rather wear my docs than even attempt to wear heels.

As I reached my mid twenties, I started to embrace my femininity more, but for a solid decade or more I did not want to associate with anything girly. So for the longest time, I refused to buy or wear anything pink. Looking back it seems silly now, but back then I was actually embarrassed to admit I liked something so “girly”.

Now I embrace my love of pink with my whole heart. Once I realized that it was just a color, my whole thinking changed. Colors are not gender specific and when society attempts to assign them a gender it really is only a passing fad, and fads change all the time. It wasn’t so long along that baby boys were dressed in all pink. A Ladies Home Journal in 1918 wrote “The generally accepted rule is pink for the boys, and blue for the girls. The reason is that pink, being a more decided and stronger color, is more suitable for the boy, while blue, which is more delicate and dainty, is prettier for the girl.” 🤷‍♀️

See what I mean? Making colors gender specific has always been a fad. If you need me, I’ll be picking out my next shade of pink nail polish. After all, according to Ladies Home Journal only decided and strong people wear pink. 💅💪

#wednesdaywisdom

Leave a comment